The best potato puree! yummm

The best potatoe puree, Yumm

I was wondering why my sweetess Korean “girls” (the two daughters of a good Korean friend of mine) who went back to Korea a couple of months ago,sent me an email telling me that they missed potatoe puree?I had written to them and had asked them what food they missed most of all from Germany, and they wrote potatoe puree. Did they not have potatoes in Korea? Now I realise it wasn’t fresh potato puree ,but what I suspected , instant packet potatoe puree. Quelle horreur! How horrible! They don’t know how to make it ?? I straight away sent them my special recipe for a fluffy potatoe puree which I so much enjoyed as a child. At first I had thought they missed the Marzipan Kartoffeln, which I bought them at Christmas. (see photo in my blog)Then I thought , maybee you cannot buy potatoes in Korea? But no, they assured me you can.
So here it is, my potatoe puree recipe which I want to share with you as well as my friends in Korea. Bon Appetit!

The amount of potatoes you buy will depend on how many people you will feed.

You will need :

2kgs of potatoes for boiling, preferably bio potatoes as they taste better, or from your own garden if you grow them.
2 tablespoons of butter or olive oil if you are making the mediterranean type.
Half a teaspoon of salt
Half a cup of milk, or cream
Pepper , (crushed garlic if with olive oil for the mediterranean one)
Grated nutmeg, but not too much otherwise the taste of nutmeg wIll be too strong , just one pinch.
The yellow of one egg for the non mediterranean one.

Peel potatoes and cut in quarters, put them in a cooking pot with cold water , salt, and bring to the boil.
Reduce heat and cook until soft but not falling apart. Take a piece out to taste, make sure they are not too hard . It should take about 15mins cooking time. When cooked, drain the water but keep a little just in case the puree thickens up too quickly. Put the potatoes quickly back in the pot with the butter and a little milk and mash them , not with an electric mixer as the puree becomes too guey. Put back on the stove on the lowest heat and add a little milk or cream if it starts to thicken up , add the nutmeg and the yellow of an egg and mix well for the non mediterranean version. For the other version just add a tablespoon of olive oil. Cover and serve with grounded pepper for decoration. If you want to add a crushed garlic clove, add it at the same time as the milk and mix well, but then do not use butter but olive oil only. Taste to see if there is enough salt , if not add a little more, but be careful not to add too much. You can serve this with fried pork chops in which you can add the juices of the cooked chops back in the puree, with a little fried caramalised shallottes. Okay I hope you will enjoy this potatoe puree. You can of course serve it with fish or lamb chops or just vegetables if you prefer. LEAVE A COMMENT IF YOU LIKE MY RECIPE FOR THIS POTATOE PUREE AND I AM ALWAYS HAPPY TO HEAR YOUR VERSIONS OR WHAT YOU MAY SERVE IT WITH. THANKS
text and photo copyright by lookingforthebestfood

Leave a Reply

