Curries

18.7.11

I can’t believe I have found time to cook and blog again!!The humid heat  had not helped at all to make you want to cook anything, but today is the first cool day  and I am breathing again!! I don’t know how I ever managed to live in Australia  for so long with the constant humid heat. So on this refreshing day I decided to take the opportunity to try out a new recipe, this one is delicious and not bland,  for all the vegeterians. As usual it is adapted to my taste so it has had a few changes, but is from the book “Currys”by Zabert Sandmann one of the many books on “Currys” on my shelves- All the products I use are bio or (Eco, in English)
Just a little warning, when you use the  dried chilis ( I only used a tiny one, see photo,) they are HOT!!  You may wish to use the fresh ones without the seeds I think they are not so intensive , okay that is up to you.. The rest of the chilis I will use to make some chili oil or just to add to some cooking oil when cooking spaghetti, simple and good chili oil with garlic  and spaghetti served with fresh parmesan.
Okay, but back to the recipe,,, it has a more Thailandish  note. I used Butternut pumpkin and my recipe is more liquidy because I added a little more water,( flat mineral water which makes the dish taste better) I also added some fresh coriander whilst cooking, this gave it a stronger taste which I personally prefer, not to exclude fresh chopped coriander for the decoration of the finished dish. I love coriander!!
For a desert I suggest a mango joghurt or mango lassi.  So ,Bon appetit!!
Here is the recipe , the portions are given for 4 persons but since most people like to have a second helping I think it better for 2 persons..It also depends how hungry you are or if you want to serve it as an entrée or or main course.

POTATO AND PUMPKIN CURRY WITH PEANUTS (For 4 Persons, or two hungry ones!!)

INGREDIENTS:

600g of pumpkin Butternut
1 large onion
800g of new potaoes, not too big, more on the small size.
2 tablespoons of sunflower oil
2 tablespoons of freshly grated ginger
1 dried chili (SMALL) !!
400ml of coconut milk
1 tablesspoon of Garam Masala
1 tablespoon of curry powder
2 tablespoons of chopped coriander  ( buy a bunch)
2 tablespoons of peanuts,( you can use the salted ones)
A little salt,( To suit your taste!!)

PREPARATION:

1. Peel the pumpkin, (take the seeds out) and cut into small pieces. Peel the onion and slice in small thin rings. Wash  and scrub the potaoes under running water and cut into quarters. Grate the fresh ginger , enough for two tablesspoons.

2. Heat the oil in a saucepan, reduce heat, then add the onion rings,  grated ginger and chili pod and fry for a few minutes on low heat but do not brown the onion t it should be golden. Add the potatoes and fry for a few more minutes while stirring then add the coconut milk with 150ml of flat mineral water , two sprigs of coriander the Garam Masala , curry powder and peanuts.  Cover and simmer for 10 mins, then add the Butternut and simmer for another 10 mins , stir now and again  Taste to see if all is cooked well, if not cook for another 5 mins, but do not overcook,Serve with  fresh chopped coriander.

A great recipe to warm up for the winter days also!!

That’s all for the “BEST” today !!

Copywright Lookingforthebestfood


Leave a Reply

